Upgrading Ubuntu breaks MongoDB

I am new to MongoDB devops, and I’m having issues upgrading multiple servers from Ubuntu 16.04 to 18.04. Doing the upgrade breaks the Mongo databases present on the system. The servers are running the Ubuntu official versions of MongoDB, 2.6.10 on 16.04 and 3.6.3 after the upgrade. As far as I understand the way to fix it is to downgrade mongo and to the rolling updates.

This does not feel like the intended way to upgrade the systems, and I have so far been unable to find a propper way to do it. Is it really the intended result to have to downgrade Mongo manually and upgrade step by step?

I appreciate any suggestions, thank you in advance.

Related bug on Launchpad: https://answers.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/mongodb/+question/691008

From Mongo Ubuntu Install.

Important

The mongodb package provided by Ubuntu is not maintained by MongoDB Inc. and conflicts with the official mongodb-org package. If you have already installed the mongodb package on your Ubuntu system, you must first uninstall the mongodb package before proceeding with these instructions.

This is the best supported way to upgrade your database to a supported version. The documentation is in each releases, upgrade notes. There are important steps along the way

My advise is to also remove the Ubuntu repository version of mongodb and install from the MongoDB repository.

You are also well advised to look at your client drivers as this many major versions include depreciations along the way.

1 Like

Thank you for replying Chris. I understand the Ubuntu package is not maintained by MongoDB Inc, do you have any idea why it is this way?

For this project other third party repositories is not an option, so I will have to rely on what is available from Ubuntu. We also need to find a way to upgrade these systems automatically but I will create a new post for that.