Hybrid MongoDB cluster and number of nodes

Dear all,

First post on these boards :slight_smile:

I’m rather new to MongoDB, so please bear with me.

I have two questions regarding MongoDB clusters:

1/ Are hybrid clusters possible (with nodes on both Linux and Windows servers) ?
2/ Is it possible to add extra nodes to an existing cluster without breaking anything (say going from 2 nodes to 3) ?

Best regards,

Samuel

1 Like

Hello @Samuel_VISCAPI, welcome to the MongoDB Community forum!

In MongoDB, a cluster can mean a replica-set or a sharded cluster. Since, you didn’t mention which one it is I am posting for a replica-set.

1/ Are hybrid clusters possible (with nodes on both Linux and Windows servers) ?

I think it is possible.

MongoDB uses statement based replication, and the write information is stored and replicated using an oplog. The requirement would be that all the nodes in the cluster must have the same MongoDB versions.

2/ Is it possible to add extra nodes to an existing cluster without breaking anything (say going from 2 nodes to 3) ?

It is possible - see Add Members to a Replica Set

2 Likes

Hi @Samuel_VISCAPI,

I hope you have got your doubt cleared.
If you still have any further questions feel free to mention them down here.

Thank you @Prasad_Saya for helping out.

Regards,
Kushagra

Hi @Prasad_Saya and @Kushagra_Kesav !

Thank you very much for the quick reply and the kind words, really appreciated :slight_smile:

I was indeed referring to a replica set, sorry I forgot to mention it. The third node on the Windows server would act as an arbiter only.

Best regards,

Samuel

1 Like

Hi @Samuel_VISCAPI,

• Yes, the third one will be arbiter. The arbiter only votes in elections during the elections of the new primary.

Please feel free to reach out if you have any questions.

Happy Learning :clap:

Thanks,
Kushagra

Welcome to the MongoDB Community @Samuel_VISCAPI!