Clear my doubt on some question for mongoDB DBA

Hi,

i’m sony and i’m new to this mongodb stuff. i’m a DBA and mostly work with RDBMS/SQL. Need your help to clearly my mind for some of question i had in mind:

1. i cant find mongodb architecture like i found for oracle architecture, architecture that tell about how mongodb work, the buffer, log wal etc Did mongodb have this arch?

2. if this mongodb have a metadata collection like in rdbms hv metadata table that i can use to query ?

3. how to count the collection in database ? mostly in google i only found how to count document in collection.

4. did mongodb adopt read uncommited concept ? how to make it read committed ?

Many Thanks

Welcome to the MongoDB community @sony_vipassi!

i cant find mongodb architecture like i found for oracle architecture, architecture that tell about how mongodb work, the buffer, log wal etc Did mongodb have this arch?

It depends what level of detail you are looking for.

For some high level info on disk write behaviour, see FAQ: MongoDB Storage. For a more technical dive into architecture, see A Technical Introduction to WiredTiger (MongoDB 3.0) and the Engineering Chalk & Talks sessions on the path to transactions in later versions of MongoDB.

A general difference from RDBMS is that MongoDB tries to have reasonable defaults so you don’t have to do a lot of tuning of database configuration parameters.

After installation (and following the Security Checklist), initial tuning of an on-premise deployment is more focused on your O/S and filesystem settings per the Operations Checklist and Production Notes in the MongoDB documentation.

For a more comprehensive introduction I recommend taking the Free DBA training courses at MongoDB University as they will help with foundational knowledge and some hands-on learning.

if this mongodb have a metadata collection like in rdbms hv metadata table that i can use to query ?