Zsh shell can't run npm

I don’t know why zsh can’t find npm. See screenshot below:

I tried checking the path and I had to do some kind of fancy footwork to install the mongo shell previously when I took the M001 course, now I wonder if that’s causing me problems. I don’t recall what I did in the first place, unfortunately. I am pretty new to all this. Here’s another screenshot in case it’s helpful:

Using Mac Catalina.

Hi!

The screenshot is repeated, you probably want to upload a different one.

And can print your path using echo $PATH?

Sorry, I replaced the second screenshot so they are now different. The second one shows the echo $PATH.

Here’s the same info without name blocked out in case for some reason it’s helpful to see…

Screen Shot 2020-10-06 at 2.34.27 PM
Screen Shot 2020-10-06 at 2.34.55 PM

You might expect someone else to help, but this is what I myself would try:

The problem may be that npm is on a different PATH, or it’s not installed. If you re-install node, it will probably fix the path for you.

Edit
If that solution does not work (but it should), I came across a nice post on SO about installing node.

Good luck!

That helped to install again, so thank you for that suggestion. I mean it at least made something different happen, but it is still not doing what I think it’s supposed to do.

I don’t know what’s wrong this time. Well, I mean the first time I forgot to cd to the right location, but then it still had issues. Here’s a screenshot:

npm is node package manager, it allows you to install programs written in javascript, located somewhere on the cloud.

There are two ways you normally install a program

1. npm install <package-name>
  2. npm install

For the first method, you need the name of a package, normally found in the official npm site. This is normally used when you are creating your own App. And it requires you previously run npm init or npm init -y if you’re starting with npm. (this step creates a package.json file)