Why this course doesn't provide a step by step stet up instruction?

I just finished M101 which is easy to follow as it provides a step by step instructions of setting up the lab environment.

I am wondering if the instructor can provide a step by step instruction for my IMAC environment, such as :
step 1: download the virtual box . step 2…

The lab instruction say “Bring up your Vagrant environment by running these commands”…should I run/setup virtual box first?

Sorry I am new to mongodb…would appreciate a more detail step by step instruction…since you cannot go further without setting up the environment.

Thanks

Why this course doesn’t provide a step by step stet up instruction?

Because this course is a training for system administrators. I think it’s fair that MongoU expects some level of prior knowledge with regards to the operating system you’re working with.

“Bring up your Vagrant environment by running these commands”…should I run/setup virtual box first?

Yes. You should install both Vagrant and VirtualBox before moving forward with the VMs themselves.

Hi yutao100,

I am sorry for your experience. Please check my post here. I tried listing all the necessary steps.

Let me know if I missed something.

Kanika

1 Like

Thanks Kanika!

My “vagrant up --provision” is running…however I am seeing bold message saying “==> mogod-m103: Box ‘ubuntu/trusty64’ could not be found. Attempting to find and install…”

I am using apple a laptop …and it seems to be downloading something

Does that sound right to you?

That is exactly right :slight_smile:

Vagrant needs to download a virtual machine (VM), which is built using Ubuntu Linux… We’ll be doing our labs on a virtual Linux computer that runs inside your Mac. Isn’t technology great? :smiley: