Why does this tool exist?

I am new to MongoDB and trying to understand the tools and offerings. One of the first things I try to understand is what is the purpose or usage of a particular tool. It seems we have the ability to query MongoDB using the collection find() method. It allows filtering and projections.

So my question: why does the Aggregation Framework exist? Is this used internally by the find() method? Is the purpose to derive summation data such as percentages, or counts, etc? Can we not use find() to do the same?

I believe that’s why you took this course to know why this tool exists.

While it’s true that you can do with find() method what the current lesson on Aggregation is teaching. But wait, there’s more. Let’s follow the lessons to learn more. You can also view the manual reference: https://docs.mongodb.com/manual/reference/operator/aggregation/ to learn ahead what functions/methods can be found on Aggregation.

As a side note, I’m also a beginner and I’m learning that there’s this $project function that let’s you do data manipulation – I’m not sure if it can be used on a find() method.

Hope this helps,

Ben

1 Like

Hi,

As @Benjamin_93799 pointed out, the aggregation framework provides the ability to create complex data processing pipelines, where you can filter, group documents, compute aggregated fields, re-shape documents, etc., a lot of operations which cannot be done using find(). Before the aggregation framework was released, all these operations were programmed in the application layer.

José Carlos

2 Likes

Well, this course describes “what” the tool is, it does not describe “why”. I must base my understanding of “why” on my very limited Mongo experience. I think the answer by @jcarlosgarcia is good in that he describes “why”.