Scheduled aggregation best practices

Hey everyone,

I’m sorry for the total noob question, but after days of docs reading I wasn’t able to decide what is the best way to run scheduled aggregation on data stored in Atlas.

I have aggregation pipeline set in Aggregation Pipeline Builder, basically I’d like to run that by schedule and save aggregated data in a separate new db/collection.

Should I have to use Realm / Functions or is there an easier way?

Thank you in advance!

1 Like

Hi @Vane_T,

I have written a blog that exactly demonstrate this ability with Atlas scheduled triggers.

This is not hard in stone and its mostly a concept, hopes it is useful:
Spirits in the Materialized View: Automatic Refresh of Materialized Views | MongoDB Blog

Let me know if something is not clear.

Thanks
Pavel

2 Likes

Hi @Pavel_Duchovny

thank you for you response! :slight_smile:

I will study it, but not being a developer with only some familiarity with it I was hoping for some copy paste code like ones available in Aggregation Pipeline Builder where we can “Export Pipeline To Language”, so I supposed there might be some such obvious solution for us,
where I copy that code in some format, and trigger its execution with the frequency I want in a schedule.
I understand it is mainly for devs with a min. knowledge, but not all guys who control a budget are on that level :slight_smile:
I use the code I got from there for Node.js and run it from Visual Studio Code, the MongoDB connection is OK, the code runs there in VSC without error, but the aggregation is not executed at all (checking it in Atlas).
I was hoping if I can execute it manually then I can copy it and trigger its run by an Atlas trigger.
Any more idea is really appreciated though and thank you again! :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi @Vane_T,

For a straight forward code could look something like , paste your details and pipeline

async  function()
{
var db = "db";
var sourceColl = "sourceColl";