NoSQL newbie - modelling golf course data

I am new to NoSQL. I have experience of RDBMS systems and structures, but also by no means a DBA or app developer…

I am a hobbyist / enthusiast, and I am looking to deploy a new iOS app tied to a Parse server backend, using MongoDB. I am thinking through the data model required, and I default to relational data structures…

I would like to model recording golf competitions. Simplistically, a competition is a:

• Round of golf

• On a specific course

• On a specific day / date

Typically, I would have tables to define the Course(s) and 1:Many Hole table linked to each Course.
CourseID
CourseName
CoursePar

HoleID
HoleNo
HolePar
HoleSI
HoleCourseID

Separately, I would store Round in a different table, with a foreign key back to Course. This starts needing many links between tables to perform queries, aggregation, etc. Simply put a Player plays a Round (another 1:Many relation).

Should I instead create rows for each hole recorded, that ALSO has the Course data in it, so each row can perform it’s own queries & aggregation?

Row1:
RowID, HoleNo, CourseID, HolePar, HoleSI, HoleGrossScore, HoleNettScore, etc, etc

Then I may not even need the Course & Hole tables?

Hello and welcome to MongoDB community.

So, the main purpose of the application is to collect the above data - a golf competition related data.

And, then use it for what? What are your main and most used queries? So, your application has a main screen showing somethings and main options to show some details. What are those and important ones? These questions are to drive (not the golf play drive) the design and modeling of data.

Competitions are played on a course with holes. Many players play in a competition. Many rounds are played during competition - and players play and there is an outcome for each round. This is general information, the entities and attributes involved.