Newb -- Administration via nodejs

Usually the examples and advice about administration say to use the mongo shell. Is it possible to do all necessary admin operations via the nodejs driver instead (no Mongoose)? I thought I wanted to use that route because I am going to be programming in that environment anyway and could cut down on the count of environments I have to learn by avoiding the shell.

I have mongodb installed on my VM and it works for a "nodebb" database with a "nodebb" user. I created an additional database "archive" with a user "archive". While authenticated as a database server administrator, I submit against the database named "archive", a command to update the password of the user named "archive". A message comes back saying user archive@admin is not found. But "admin" is the wrong database for the server to be looking for the user in, because I submitted the command against database "archive".

typeof (tmp.db = tmp.mongo_client.db("archive"));

tmp.admin_cmd = {
  updateUser: "archive",
  pwd: "tmp.pw"
};

with (tmp) ( async function () {
  try {
    await db.executeDbAdminCommand(admin_cmd);
    console.log("Submitted command.");
  } catch (err) {
    console.error(err)
  }
})();

MongoError: User archive@admin not found

Update: I did changeUserPassword through the mongo shell and it ran without error (addressing the same user and database).

Yes, you can do all the admin stuff using node. That’s what the mongo shell is, a node REPL interpreter with some very clever predefines.

1 Like

Hi @Jack_WAUGH,

The general answer is that all actions that can be performed via the mongo shell can also be actioned via a driver, since ultimately the shell is just sending database commands to your MongoDB deployment.