MongoDB reverse proxy and replica set

Hello guys,
I hope everyone is ok. I am sorry to bother you with some basic questions but I am new to mongodb and i am struggling a bit.

I am a junior devOps, and i have a practice project which consist in:
1 aws instance running a nodejs application (just a simple home page) running on port 3000
2 a mongodb (configured with the application and should connect on port 27017

Inside the app configuration, there is a variable called DB_HOST(where, from the instance, we should import the link

mongodb://10.0.1.100:27017/posts

and we should be able to connect from the app instance IP:27017/posts to the mongodb and display some random blog posts.

Now, the process i followed, was using chef,packer and terraform to spin up aws instances. the app application works just fine, but if i try to access the mongodb, keeps loading the page but nothing happens.

Here are the steps i did.

Withthe application, i implemented a nginx reverse proxy, so the communication get through port 80 instead of port 3000

in mongodb i did this

mongod.conf

# mongod.conf

# for documentation of all options, see:
#   http://docs.mongodb.org/manual/reference/configuration-options/

# Where and how to store data.
storage:
  dbPath: /var/lib/mongodb
  journal:
    enabled: true
#  engine:
#  mmapv1:
#  wiredTiger:

# where to write logging data.
systemLog:
  destination: file
  logAppend: true
  path: /var/log/mongodb/mongod.log

# network interfaces
net:
  port: <%= @port %>
  bindIp: <%= @bind_ip %>

#processManagement:

#security:

#operationProfiling:

#replication:

#sharding:

## Enterprise-Only Options:

#auditLog:

#snmp:

and in the attributre i set:

default[‘mongodb’][‘port’] = 27017
default[‘mongodb’][‘bind_ip’] = ‘0.0.0.0’

doing this i should be able to connect from any ip to the port 27017.