MongoDB Compass does not start in Ubuntu 18.10

I am using Ubuntu 18.10. Have installed Compass but it refuses to run. Don’t know why.

Ditto, running on Kali Linux, another Debian-like. Don’t know why Compass won’t run, it’s just stuck on the “Loading” screen. I haven’t managed to get it working :expressionless:

Are you running Ubuntu in a VM, or on bare metal? If it’s a VM, which platform are you using, on which host OS?

I was running Kali, through VMWare Fusion on MacOS.

Kali is specialized as a security tool, I think. Must have some setting that is not compatible with MongoDB Compass. You can ask Kali forum why Compass won’t work :slight_smile:

I suggest using vanilla Debian Stretch. I was stuck with Debian for a very long time, just because it has “Apt Store” built into it. – I’m a conservative when it comes to technology – or just lazy. Debian satisfies my requirement both as a desktop and or as a server. I’m no expert in Debian but I managed to get around everything, so far, using it’s very good and helpful forum. (haha - I’m proud to advertise Debian.)

MacOS is a very good OS indeed coupled with a very good hardware. You can’t go wrong with installing Compass directly.

Lately my desktop is getting ‘fat’ with all the new tech I installed out of “Apt Store”. It now means my Debian is getting left behind. Just because newer techs are being developed very very fast. I’m in uncharted territory. If something go wrong, it’s gonna be a mess. It was late that I setup Virtual Box for testing servers. So I have a server I can move around and not worry about major settings. I once got interested in Docker for a moving server - but it’s a little heavy on the learning curve. I got lucky with Virtual Box so I’m staying with Virtual Box, although I heard VM is much better.