Is mongoDB right for discussion forum

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie developer. I created a simple CRUD app in the MERN stack. It’s a discussion forum. But most people suggest I should have used a relational database, as there are a lot of relations like the post, comments, sub comments. Any suggestion is it doable with MongoDB, or should I switch to SQL.

Thank you.

Everything is doable @Norma_Moras . Most people opt for relational databases as they see everything in a relational schema. You can obviously use Mongo, but your data model would look a bit different (having some stuff embedded) and some things still sort of relational. You can follow these for data modelling - https://docs.mongodb.com/manual/core/data-modeling-introduction/

2 Likes

I second what @shrey_batra said. MongoDB is a general purpose database and fits with most use cases. You can definitely build a discussion forum using MongoDB.

When people use the term non-relational to describe MongoDB, it doesn’t mean MongoDB doesn’t support relationships. MongoDB just handles them in a different way. In fact, many people consider the way MongoDB handles relationships to be more natural than the way a relational database handles them.

As you begin modeling your data, consider how you will be accessing (displaying or updating) your data. Data this accessed together should be stored together.

I hope you enjoy trying out MongoDB!

3 Likes

Hello @Norma_Moras

It is great that you want to utilize the strong features of MongoDB. In a first step it might help to change the wording. As mentioned from @shrey_batra and @Lauren_Schaefer MongoDB models relations as well as other databases. Maybe we should say tabular vs. natural approach to store data and with them relations.