Inserting file in mongodb using Python

I am new to storing file in mongodb. I need to store text files containing 60 fractional values. These files must be associate with a patient id, a medical parameter like body temperature. I also need to associate the file with date and time. Number of files will be in Lakhs.
What is the best approach of storing
as file in collection, taking a lot of time to store using Python. Retrieve data I will try now.
gridFS?
What if I have pdf files containing ECG image.
Kindly suggest

One option for storing files is to use gridFS. See https://docs.mongodb.com/manual/core/gridfs/ for more details.

Another option is to store the files in something like a S3 bucket.

1 Like

Thank you, I will try s3 bucket and respond if there is any problem…

You can also store small binary files (need to be smaller than 16mb) inside of the bin data type within your MongoDB documents.

For text files I’d recommend parsing into a proper MongoDB document so you can query on the data. You could also look at Atlas Data Lake for querying data in text within S3

2 Likes

Great point on storing the data in MongoDB if you’ll need to query it!

1 Like

I have not got the chance to work with all the options. Till now, I have worked with storing file in a collection and gridFS.
I need another suggestion in this respect.
If I want to store normal data fields along with 2.2MB sized files, is it OK if I keep these files in collection? May need to store multiple files (2/3) in one document.
Kindly advise.

It depends on what the files are and how you want to query them. If the files aren’t text-based, you could put them in a S3 bucket and store links to them in your documents.