Inserted a json got $numberLong back in the returned json

Hi, I am new to mongo and I love the fact I could use it without knowing much! I am storing a json and it has data like:

"FI_CLOB_ORDER_RATE_LIMIT_DUPLICATE_CHILD": {
      "orderLimitName": "Duplicate_Child_Order",
      "windowSize": 1000,
      "rateLimit": 100,
      "actionEnumKey": "FI_CLOB_ORDER_RATE_LIMIT_DUPLICATE_CHILD"
    },
    "FI_CLOB_ORDER_RATE_LIMIT_CHILD_NOTIONAL": {
      "orderLimitName": "Child_Notional",
      "rateLimit": 20000000000.0,
      "actionEnumKey": "FI_CLOB_ORDER_RATE_LIMIT_CHILD_NOTIONAL"
    }

When I retrieve it I get:
"FI_CLOB_ORDER_RATE_LIMIT_DUPLICATE_CHILD": {
      "orderLimitName": "Duplicate_Child_Order",
      "rateLimit": 100,
      "actionEnumKey": "FI_CLOB_ORDER_RATE_LIMIT_DUPLICATE_CHILD"
    },
    "FI_CLOB_ORDER_RATE_LIMIT_CHILD_NOTIONAL": {
      "orderLimitName": "Child_Notional",
     "rateLimit": {"$numberLong": "20000000000"}
      "actionEnumKey": "FI_CLOB_ORDER_RATE_LIMIT_CHILD_NOTIONAL"
    }

As you can see the second rateLimit is returned with $numberLong. Is there a way to get simply the original json back?

My java mongo driver is 3.11.0

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Hi @Navin_Jha and welcome in the MongoDB Community :muscle: !

The current version of the MongoDB Java driver is 4.2.3. Please make sure to use the correct version of the driver and also not the legacy one. But this won’t solve this “issue”.

Your number is 20 billions. It’s greater than 2,147,483,647 which is the maximum positive value for a 32-bit signed binary integer. The only way for MongoDB (or any computer for that matter) to store this value is in a 64-bit integer == a long.

MongoDB is a BSON database. So it’s capable to handle basic JSON… But also more complex data types like dates, decimal128, … and longs that JSON can’t handle.