How to write in the config file

I am completely confused how we create this config file in the first place. I understand what goes in it, but how do we actually open it to write into it or create it in the first place. I am not experienced with command line. The file isnt in my finder because its not actually on my local drive since its virtual. So how do you do this??

Type nano mongo.config, then paste all your config info, when you finish save the file and exit with ctrl + x

you can create config file on your windows machine with notepad and save it as “node1.conf” into C:\Users…\m103\m103-vagrant-env\shared folder… this file will copy config file into ubuntu box… when you do vagrant up --provision and then vagrant ssh and then connect to ubuntu and type after seeing vagrant@m103: create directory by typing sudo mkdir -p /var/mongodb/db/node1 and then type ls -al and then you will see shared folder and type cd /./var/shared and then you will be in that folder, and then type ls -al again and see your copied "node1.conf " is there. and then to move that file into /var/mongodb/db/node1 while you are in /./var/shared directory type sudo mv node1.conf /var/mongodb/db/node1 and then press enter…this will move your config file from shared to /var/mongodb/db/node1 folder… i hope this help.

1 Like

that doesnt work for me. It doesnt recognize nano

Hi Ben,

You can use vi editor. Just copy the content you need to paste to the config file.

To open a file in a current directory:

vagrant@m103:~$ vi mongod_node1.conf

Now, vi editor will open up! To open Insert mode, press i, you will see -- INSERT -- at the bottom.

Paste the content, using [CMD + v] or [Ctrl + v]. You will be able to paste the text.

Now press [Esc] and -- INSERT -- line will disappear.
Type :wq and press [return] or [Enter]

You will be back to the terminal.

I would read this tutorial for vi editor here. :slight_smile:

Thanks, Kanika

2 Likes