How to properly utilize $lookup with alternate join conditions?

Greetings! I’m new to MongoDB but I’ve looked at the documentation for a lot of the aggregation related commands. I was wondering about a portion of an aggregatetion I am currently working with:

// name is a predefined variable for a part name

{
    $lookup: {
      let: {
        family: name,
        isParent: false,
      },
      pipeline: [
        {
          $match: {
            family: "$family",
            isParent: "$isParent",
          },
        },
      ],
      as: "products",
    },
  },

I’m just a little confused on how to properly configure this properly. Currently it adds the products array to my current aggregate function, but it is completely devoid of content.

Hey @Ether Welcome to MongoDB Community Forum,

Look at the instruction provided in the join-conditions-and-uncorrelated-sub-queries,

Optional. Specifies variables to use in the pipeline field stages. Use the variable expressions to access the fields from the documents input to the $lookup stage.

The pipeline cannot directly access the input document fields. Instead, first define the variables for the input document fields, and then reference the variables in the stages in the pipeline .

NOTE

To reference variables in pipeline stages, use the "$$<variable>" syntax.

The let variables can be accessed by the stages in the pipeline, including additional $lookup stages nested in the pipeline .

• A $match stage requires the use of an $expr operator to access the variables. $expr allows the use of aggregation expressions inside of the $match syntax.Without the use of the $expr operator, $match can refer to fields in a document but cannot access variables defined by a $lookup let clause.The $expr operator only uses indexes on the from collection for equality matches. Non-equality match queries, such as range queries, cannot use indexes on the from collection.