How can I start a web application?

I have no technology experience, but after working on a web based application tool, I have developed an interest to build my own web application. I am looking for the guidance and path to design, develop, deploy and maintain a web application successfully. I am very interested to learn new things, but after seeing lot of competitive options (java vs python) (back end/front end/full stack) (mySQL vs MangoDB). I am confused how to begin from the scratch. Kindly help.

Know someone who can answer?

Hello @louis_thomas, welcome to the MongoDB Community forum.

I have no technology experience… I am confused how to begin from the scratch. Kindly help.

This is a difficult question to answer. I am writing somethings and hope it is useful to you in some way.

A web application has various components - mainly the front-end and the back-end. Take a typical email program like Gmail or Yahoo mail. These are web applications and has front and back ends.

The browser is where the front-end of the application runs. This is where you view the data, enter data, and click a button to store the data. The program that runs in the web browser is made up of HTML, CSS, JavaScript + maybe other components depending upon technologies. This is the user interface to the web application.

A back-end has multiple components; mostly a database server and a web server.
The database server is where you have the database and it is where the data is stored. These are databases like MySQL or MongoDB or even a data files. The emails you save are stored and retrieved from this database. Note that you can have a web application entirely without a database.