Guidelines for setting up a production instance

Hello,

I apologise if this isn’t the right category. I am working on a project for a small business where i’m looking to migrate their data from MySQL over to Mongo as part of a rebuild of their services. I do feel for the most part mongo actually will be better suited than their MySQL instance especially for some of the aggregations and reporting.

I’m quite new to mongo, although I do have a fair amount of experience as an engineer querying/aggregating data but have no experience from the sysadmin side of things.

I’m mostly looking for advice and possibly documentation in order to correctly configure and set-up mongoDB for a production environment – i’m nervous about moving their data over to mongo and having problems or loss of data, and would like to prepare myself as best i can to migrate.

I wanted to run mongo in docker and mount the storage as a volume which I can then back-up with rsync to an external storage periodically. Would this be viable?

Thanks,
Ash

1 Like

Hello @Ashley_Meadows well come to the community!

It is great that you want to utilize the strong features of MongoDB. As you mention you have a solid SQL background. To get the most out of an noSQL Setup, you need to change the way of thinking about schema design. Your first goal will no longer be to get the maximal normalized Schema, Denormalization is not bad, the requirement of your queries will drive your design. The story will start to think about a good schema design. In case you move the SQL normalized Data Model 1:1 to MongoDB you will not have much fun or benefit.

So in a first step I’d suggest to check out if you have a well fitting schema to utilize the MongoDB / noSQL advantages. If this is not the case, please do not worry about DBA issues and setup parameters - most likely you approach would not satisfy you without good data modelling.