Getting data from query result taking a long time

Hello Mongo newbie here. I have a query which works fine but when running against a lot of data and wide date range it can take many seconds or even minutes. I narrowed down the bottle neck which is the following snippet that lies within a couple of for loops. In my current date range the whole query takes less than a second…

db.collection.find({'SecondEvent.Code': "1111"}, 
    {_id: 0, 'TrackTime': 1}).sort({'TrackTime.0': -1}).limit(1)

However what I want to do is get the actual value of the TrackTime which means doing the following…

{_id: 0, 'TrackTime': 1}).sort({'TrackTime.0': -1}).limit(1)[0].TrackTime[0].valueOf()

The whole query now takes about 12 seconds! Is there any other way of getting the time value out for the result without the performance falling over like this?

Any help is much appreciated

Thanks

I’m curious what the documents in your collection look like.

Also do you have any indexes beyond the default _id?

Hi, and thanks. There are other indexes around various values I even created one for the Tracking Time but didn’t make any difference (Update: although this won’t make any difference anyway as I’m not selecting based on the TrackTime). An example document is as follows…

{
"_id" : LUUID("5e4cf57f-2b1d-2d4a-b158-b54c43b17364"),
"Event" : {
    "Code" : "22",
    "Description" : "example description"
},
"Confirmed" : [ 
    NumberLong(636469684832760000), 
],
"Exported" : [ 
    NumberLong(636449680517180000), 
],
"Location" : "locationA",
"SecondEvent" : {
    "_id" : LUUID("b838f2c5-033c-c64b-95b7-b636cca4d2bf"),
    "Code" : "1111",
    "Description" : "example description",
    "Default" : true,
    "Location" : {
        "Name" : "Default",
        "Code" : "AAA"
    },
    "EndOfLife" : false
},
"Ships" : {
    "Id" : "123456789-id",
    "Name" : "xyz",
    "Number" : "123456789",
    "Parts" : [ 
        {
            "Codes" : [ 
                {