Getting a list of a specific data

Hello, I’m pretty new at working with mongoDB. I’m using it as my database in a small javascript project. I’m looking for a solution to something I’d like to do.

I have a cluster full of userdata, with several properties in each. What would be the best way to retrieve (preferably as an array?) every “id” (not _id) field content, but only where “propertyA” is bigger than “propertyB”. These two properties are both stored as numbers, of course. I’d like to have a list of their id so I can perform an action on all of them in my software, namely to increment propertyB by a number.

If this is something not possible or too complex, getting an array list of EVERY “id” property would be useful aswell.

Thanks in advance!

Hello @Lord_Wasabi, here are couple of ways to get the list of id values as an array from your collection based upon the condition:

var idObjArr = db.collection.find( { $expr: { $gt: [ "$propB", "$propA" ] } }, { _id: 0, id: 1 } ).toArray()
var idArr = []
idObjArr.forEach(doc => idArr.push(doc.id))

Or, you can use this approach; this one only retruns distinct (unique) id values.

var idArr = db.collection.distinct("id", { $expr: { $gt: [ "$propB", "$propA" ] } } )

Hello, thank you for your answer. I tried using your solution like this:

let idObjArr = client.db.userdata.find( { $expr: { $gt: [ "$currentHP", "$maxHP" ] } }, { _id: 0, id: 1 } )
  let idArr = []
  message.channel.send(idArr);

However I’m getting an “Cannot send empty message” here, when trying to print out the array. Seems like nothing is being collected?

I accessed my database like how I usually do. “currentHP” and “maxHP” are the properties. Let me know if I missed something!

Please do a console.log(idArr) after the statement idObjArr.forEach(doc => idArr.push(doc.id)) and see what is there in the array.

Also, you can check if any documents are returned from the query itself: