Comments collection design

Hi I am new to MongoDB.

From the database design perspective, is it better to store user_id instead of storing ‘name’ and ‘email’ to the comments collection? For example, if the application allows users to update their name then the name stored to the comments collection are no longer update to date.

With my relational database head on, I’d agree that it’s probably better to store the primary key of the user in the comments collection, rather than duplicating other fields from the users collection.

But we’re not using a relational database here, so the rules of relational database design don’t necessarily apply. I suspect this design may be for performance reasons - whenever we display a comment we probably want to display the user’s name and email address too, and if we didn’t store those in the comments collection then we’d need a $lookup every time we wanted to display a comment, meaning more work for the server to do, as well as more complex code for accessing the comments collection.

Thanks for your response, Simon. Are there any guidelines or examples to show when should we use $look up for 1 to n or 1 to 1 relationship?

That’s a question that I don’t know the answer to, I’m afraid, and one of the things I hope to lean here.

The article below give us some hints of designing the schema

1 Like

Hi @brianhei,

There is a course coming up soon specifically on schema design and data modeling on MongoDB, so stay tuned for that.

In the meantime I recommend you take a look to this set of recent blog posts on the subject:

Hope this helps clarify some of your questions.

But in regard to your particular question, in MongoDB, you want to access data together when it is used together. That is a nice rule of thumb that you should take into account when designing your schema.

N.

1 Like