CMake error installing mongo-c-driver

Hello everybody,
I am new to MongoDB and I’m trying to install the mongo-c-driver and the connector.
But I always get the following CMake error:

Does anybody have a idea how to fix it?

Hi @Simon_Reitbauer,

The installation instructions have the last argument to the cmake command as the path to the directory containing CMakeLists.txt. Try adding .. to the end of your cmake command.

Thank you, now it’s working. Totally forgot that.

Well, now I am trying to install the mongocxx driver with this command:

cmake -G “Visual Studio 16 2019” \ -DBOOST_ROOT=D:\boost_1_72_0 \ -DCMAKE_PREFIX_PATH=C:\mongo-c-driver \ -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=C:\mongo-cxx-driver \ …
found on http://mongocxx.org/mongocxx-v3/installation/, but I get the following error:

Please excuse my questions, but I have never installed anything like this.

Hi Simon,

It appears you’re building the C driver with MinGW’s build tools, and the C++ driver with Visual Studio. I actually did not realize this until I tried it, but those need to be consistent. Either build both with MinGW or both with Visual Studio. In your case, since you have the Visual Studio compiler available, try building and installing the C driver with Visual Studio instead of MinGW. Then I think configuring the C++ driver should work.

Best,
Kevin

1 Like

So, I tried this version now, but it won’t work. Here is the error:

Apologies for all of these build frustrations. That is because the C driver is trying to determine the current version from the git history, but is unable to execute git. You can either install git, or more simply specify the version manually by adding -DBUILD_VERSION="1.16.2" to the cmake arguments, i.e.

cmake -G "Visual Studio 16 2019" -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=C:\mongo-c-driver -DCMAKE_PREFIX_PATH=C:\mongo-c-driver -DBUILD_VERSION="1.16.2" ..