Can't create admin user: ‘createUser’ of object test is not a function

Hi everyone,

I’m a total beginner when it comes to databases and MongoDB in particular.
I installed MongoDB via the current Debian buster package.

I tried to create an admin user as in the MongoDB documentation. I typed:

use admin
db.createUser( {
user: "nombreUsuarioAdmin",
pwd: "contrasenaUsuarioAdmin",
roles: [{role: "root",db: "admin"}]
})

The response to this command is:

Fri May 1 19:51:45.706 TypeError: Property ‘createUser’ of object test is not a function.

Can you provide a screenshot of what you are doing so that we have some context?

Are you in the shell? Look like it, but I am not sure. It could be the node driver. If in the shell, could you just enter db. It should print admin as you wrote use admin but it thinks it is an object of type test. So may be somewhere you did db = ….

It almost seems like your db shell variable has gotten overwritten. What is returned if you type db in the shell? You should get the name of your current database.

Have you tried closing your mongo shell and restarting it? This will bring everything back to a known good state.

Hi @Stefan_Schmelz,

What is the output of:

version()     // mongo shell version
db.version()  // MongoDB server version 

Regards,
Stennie

I am in the shell and running version 3.6.3 [according to version()].
The database is running ao a raspberry pi3 with a 64 bit raspbian buster.
I installed mongodb with sudo apt install -y mongodb and opened the mongo shell after install.

the only commands i entered were:

use admin
db.createUser({user:"admin",pwd: passwordPrompt(),roles:[{role: "userAdminAnyDatabase", db: "admin"}], readWriteAnyDatabase})

and if i test it hosting the database on my computer I get an error like this:
2020-05-01T23:07:40.066+0200 E QUERY [thread1] ReferenceError: passwordPrompt is not defined :
@(shell):1:29